Much “To-do” About Nothing

Writing a bukket list“Okay, that is it! I have done nothing but work my hind-parts off all morning so I sat down to check off the items I’ve finished on today’s to-do list. Do you know how many of those items I had accomplished in seven hours (Yes by noon-thirty I’ve already put in almost seven hours #momlife)?…”

Two.

So I’ve made a decision. I am no longer using a to-do list unless it includes a standard itemization of all the things I already do. For instance…

  • Wiped someone’s bottom
  • Fed people
  • Combed Hair
  • Trimmed Nail
  • Answered ten questions
  • Answered ten more questions
  • Answered ten questions at the same time
  • Swept the floor
  • Quoted scripture
  • Corrected errant thinking
  • Had positive conflict
  • Encouraged someone
  • Repeated the same sentence consecutively three times in a row
  • Divvied out chores
  • Still answering questions
  • Started a load of laundry
  • Avoid foot-death by picking up a stray Lego
  • Changed a diaper
  • Immediately changed another diaper because the baby pooped in the clean one
  • Bandaged or otherwise soothed an injury
  • Wiped something down because it was so scary it could no longer be ignored
  • Devised a scheme to entertain a small child
  • Pondered the meaning of life
  • Took time to apologize for a mistake I made
  • Picked up and held the aforementioned small child because my scheme was only moderately entertaining
  • Settled a dispute with grace and wisdom
  • Encouraged my child in their identity
  • Got interrupted
  • Stopped to teach my child how to properly interrupt and made them try again
  • Lost my phone
  • Found my phone
  • Told my children to stay off my phone
  • Hugged someone
  • Kept the toddler from doing major damage to their body and/or our property
  • Put on music to clean to
  • Shut off music because someone was calling
  • Feigned interest in a joke that stopped being funny when I was eight
  • Exhibited patience in the face of nearly insurmountable frustration
  • Kept everyone alive and unabducted (not a word I know)
  • Prayed

So…

Until the to-do list starts with at least these items… it doesn’t count anymore. Nope. INVALID! This is like the base list of any to-do for me. And now I’m really happy because I’ve got no less then thirty check marks on my to-do list today and that makes me A BOSS!

I’m Killing It!

Father, give anyone reading this the perspective to see the big picture and not just the narrow slice we like to focus on. Help them to know you and experience you in Spirit and in Truth today. Help us remember that there’s so much more going on then we can ever put on a list and to be humble and present enough to embrace that. Thank you Father, for your ridiculous mercy and grace through Jesus Christ. I surrender to you today. Be glorified in my broken life. Amen.

***Photographer: Glenn Carstens-Peters via Pexels.com

 

Leave a Reply

