Food and Drink

food-salad-healthy-vegetables.jpg

Man! I really want some coffee right now. Ooo… maybe I’ll get a Diet Coke at the theater. Oh that sounds so good. But wait that is really terrible for my body. Why do I suddenly want Diet Coke. Oh, that’s right. I’m super thirsty. Uhg… I wish I wouldn’t have forgotten my water bottle at home. The water at the theater is going to be crazy expensive. But I’m so thirsty… 

Then I glance down to see my water bottle. I had spent to whole drive thirsty and there was water right in front of my face.

____________________________

This morning I woke up knowing how much work had to get done before our house showing tomorrow. It’s been the part of the process I’ve dreaded the most because I’ve learned how impossible it is to keep a house clean with little people in it. I rushed all the kids through a “no mess” breakfast and attempted to get my bearings for where to start but it was like there was a bolder on my chest and a bag of marbles in my head. That’s not exactly the most ideal scenario for getting stuff done.

My husband got home and seeing my precarious condition, rounded up the kids to give me some space to clean without the littles undoing my hard work. But they were scarcely out of the drive way when I started crying. Now I was alone to start on this mountain of needs. Sure, sure, God is with me but… He doesn’t fold laundry. 

So… I called my sister. And she prayed. Prayer is so powerful. So few of us need so little advice and so many of us need so much prayer. Just pray each other through! I felt the brain fog clear and then I felt the most counter-intuitive leading from the LORD.

Eat.

This week has been a week of abstaining for me. Reminding myself of the power of no. Specifically in regards to what I put in my mouth and why. It’s an important lesson and one that is quite difficult for me. I like food. But then I remembered that a big part of saying no to one thing is to make room to say yes to a better thing. So… I got out the squash and the spinach and the roast, and yes… even the last slice of homemade chocolate torte (I had miraculously constructed it for my sisters birthday) and sat down and ate lunch.

A good lunch. With real food. Made of real ingredients. And I offered that meal as worship to the LORD. Wouldn’t you know it! The strength I had been begging God for this morning flooded into my body. What a shock! We need to eat to have strength. And eat what is good!

_______________________________

Lately, I’ve received some pretty incredible words of encouragement. But you know what? I left them sitting on the table. Like the water bottle that had been in front of me the whole time but I forgot. Encouragement, advice and even kindness is like food and water. We can’t just see it sitting there for it to have to effect it should. We need to receive it into ourselves. We need to eat of it. Too often we eat the junk food. The drama, the criticism, the fear- they go down easy but man do they rot in your stomach and cripple our wellness.

So, I’m going to finish my good cup of (decaffeinated) coffee. The one I took the time to make in the French Press instead of the quick Kuerig. And then I’m going to crank up my favorite music and do the best I can to be ready for the next part of this journey.

“Come, all you who are thirsty,
    come to the waters;
and you who have no money,

    come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
    without money and without cost.
2Why spend money on what is not bread,
    and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good,
    and you will delight in the richest of fare.

pexels-photo-41135

May You eat of the LORD’s goodness today. May you choose the better thing and may it give you the strength you need to follow in His goodness and bring peace to your life. All my love to you as well. 

p.s. If you want to make delicious cake

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

