Let’s Set It On Fire!

He was in a mood.

 

In his defense when I drive the lawn mower sometimes I act as if I’m driving an ATV. I don’t know why. It doesn’t even have a big motor but it’s like I’m in my own little world and the straight lines of freshly mowed grass empower me. So while imagining that I was in an army tank, I took the muddy slope to tight and managed to break the bead on the back tire. Now he was stuck trying everything under the sun to get the tire off and/or re-inflated. And it wasn’t going well.

 

God Bless YouTube.

 

I have long said that YouTube is the grandfather of our generation. When you need to know how to do something?- you ask YouTube. This had left him with two new techniques to try.

1. Tie a rope tightly around the limp tire to create enough of a seal that the air pressure will actually build up inside and completely seal the tire or…

2. Spray the outside of the tire/rim with something flammable and light it on fire. The combustion causing the air to rapidly expand creating a seal and inflating your tire in one fell swoop.

Captain Safety Pants wanted to try the rope first. He needed my help. I wasn’t exactly enthusiastic about this approach. Fortunately the rope he was using broke. Yeah! Time to do it my way.

 

He was not enjoying this but after I made fun of him and sang the most ridiculous little ditty known to man he couldn’t help but start laughing. With a pathetic excuse for a shimmy and a facial expression that was impossible to take seriously, I coaxed him “Let’s light it on FIRE!!!!!!!” And so the Fix-a-Flat lived up to its name (though not exactly as the makers intended). I sprayed it on the outside while he spun the wheel and then LIT IT UP!!!!

 

POOF! SWOOSH! Tire fixed. He was dumbfounded that it actually worked but I was doing happy dances around the yard still singing “Let’s set it on FIRE!!!!!!” To which my daughter eagerly joined in. Moral of the story; When your husband is ticked make fun of him and sing dumb songs. No. That’s not it. I don’t recommend that actually.

 

Real Moral of the story: Sometimes our soul gets deflated. Maybe we took a turn too sharp. Maybe we ran over something and punctured it. We sit there and pump and pump and pump but the air leaks out as fast as it goes in. The worship, good teaching, even fellowship… it’s all good but we’re still flat at the end of it all. Not really empowered to move forward.  For all our toil we’re still jacked-up (yes that was a pun). Sometimes we need God to come saturate us and LIGHT US ON FIRE! We need the power that can both seal our souls and fill them in one foul swoop. Once we’re sealed that good teaching, that fellowship, that worship it will actually fill us up and create the pressure to push us forward. But only if we’re sealed in Christ! 

 

Right now I am leaking air. I’ve got conviction on eating habits, fresh revelation of grace, ideas for managing my home better. It’s all coursing through my brain but it’s not actually empowering me to change. I can’t fill myself up. I can’t re-seal myself. I’m still stuck up on this stupid jack totally deflated. So… I’m asking for FIRE! I’m asking for the power of the Holy Spirit to pour out oil like the old priest would and for my heavenly Father to draw near and set me on fire.

 

If you’re in the same spot today well here you go… you can pray right along with me.

 

Father, I cannot now, nor have I ever been able to fix myself. Somewhere my soul got deflated. My spirit was crushed. But I’m asking and I’m trusting you to touch me. You have always been the repairer of the breach. The restorer of the soul. I need you in a new way today. I need anointing oil. I need encounter with you. For anyone else who is in this place, God I pray you would also do this healing work. That you would seal and fill in one consuming motion. That you would get us off our high horse and back on the path. Please come and do what I cannot do for myself. I trust that in all things you are sufficient, willing and wise and I just turn my eyes to you right now. Forgive me when I toil and try to fill myself back up. Forgive me when I’m proud and do not ask of you what you are so willing to give. Thank you that You love me anyway and that You are patient with me. With all of us. Even in your Holy Fire reveal you lavish mercy to these deflated hearts. Thank you that you are both the author and the finisher of our faith and that you know what we need even before we need it. Be near to each person who reads this and let your presence rest on them where ever they are. Thank you for everything. You really are good. Amen.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Set It On Fire!

Leave a Reply

